Nominated for The Liebster Award

LiebsterThe Liebster Award

Wow. Okay, this is a fun one. Two–no three people nominated me for this today, well, yesterday, because it’s one o’clock in the morning here. I’d like to thank you all for extending me this honor: Deb, at Once Upon a Hot Flash, and Ish at Musings of a writer wanna be and Lloyd Ann Caston at Prayyior’s God Talk. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

These women have inspiring, humorous, and informative things to share with us on their blogs. We are so lucky they write!

Here are Deb’s 10 questions for me:
1. Why do you blog? I blog to write and improve my skill, to let folks know I’m capable of writing. Perhaps something I write will inspire someone to write or paint or give a hug to someone.
2. What is your favorite song? I have many favorite songs. Tumbling Tumbleweed by Sons of the Pioneers, Round and Round by Perry Como because it always makes me happy, Dolphins Lullaby by Firefall, and Ed Ames’ performance of the Impossible Dream, Lord You Reign by Philip Bailey, Dream On by Aerosmith, Neil Diamond singing Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show and Shilo, We Don’t Need Another Hero by Tina Turner, , Long and Winding Road by the Beatles, and Wilson Phillips singing Hold On, Joy by Apollo 100, (I enjoy trying to make my fingers fly that fast over the piano keyboard, these are just a few of my favorites. The list goes on and on.
3. If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go? I’d love to go to Ireland, Scotland, England, and Europe to visit castles. I’d love to visit Turkey and tour the faery chimneys and . . . oh, there’s so many places I’d like to go. Even if I could, one lifetime wouldn’t be enough to visit them all.
4. What is your favorite day of the week? I happen to enjoy Saturdays and Mondays. Saturdays are just something special and Mondays? I enjoy making them colorful.
5. What did you want to be when you grew up? I wanted to be an archeologist until I discovered they unearthed skeletons. I went through a spell of being frightened of skeletons. History, fossils, things like Pompeii fascinate me.
6. Morning person or night owl? Both. There is nothing like birdsong at pre-dawn. There’s nothing like a full moon shining upon a waterfall in the middle of the forest.
7. What is your motto in life? Keep on keeping on has worked so far.
8. Dog or cat or neither? Both.
9. Five adjectives that best describe you? Adventurous, cautious, silly, inquisitive, complicated.
10. What is your most favorite thing to do? Explore forest pathways, walk in streams, paint, write, sing, play with the grandkids, plant, and more . . .I’d never only just pick one of these things.
Here are Lloyd’s 10 questions for me:
1. Why do you write a blog? I began writing my blog to demonstrate I can write. There were people who wanted proof – – online proof of my writing ability. Really, I can write. Right?

2. Your Biggest Fan? Beats me. Maybe, probably my daughter.

3. Did you like doing this? Sure. I like to write—and read.

4. How much time did it take you? I did not look at a clock. I did it in between other things. I don’t know.

5. Your favorite sport? I like watching the Seahawks kick butt and absolutely love watching kids play sports, any sport, for their first time.

6. Do you like to cook? Sure I do.

7. If you had 24 hours to do anything you want, what would you do? I’d probably go for a hike and maybe camp out, have another adventure.

8. Have you taken a blogging class? No. I’ve only taken Writing 101.

9. Did you like it? Ah – – sure. . . . well, truthfully, not yet. Perhaps I will once I take a blogging class. Unless Writing 101 qualifies. If so, then I’ve enjoyed it.

10. Fox or CNN? I only peek at them online. Probably CNN.

11. Who do you want to win the Pres Election coming up? I know who I don’t want to win the election, but I’ll zip my lips on politics.

Here are Ish’s questions for me:

  1. How did you pick your blog’s name? I do a lot of editing for other people and try to edit my best on my own work, but, as every writer knows, editing our own work has its drawbacks, especially when we write so frequently. Scribbles to Compositions seemed to fit my blog. Readers help me out when they spot the things my eyeballs missed, and they give me great advice on what can make my posts better. I implement much of the advice I receive.
  2. What is the most delicious food you have ever eaten? Fresh seafood over a campfire.
  3. Which is your favorite book? The book of Isaiah within the Bible.
  4. What are three things you cannot live without? Food, water, and shelter. Of course, I used to teach outdoor education so, what else could I answer? 🙂
  5. Who is your favorite fictional character? I enjoy Sean Connery as the dragon in whatever movie that was, the Spaniard in Princess Bride,  I also enjoy Darby O’Gill and Dirk Pitt and a host of others, including some hilariously funny female sleuths.
  6. What is your favorite quote and by who?  “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding.”–a quote by king Solomon, supposedly. What is so striking to me is that understanding equals knowledge. There is a reason for the hard knocks life throws at us. We gain understanding to help others. When I first read those words they really resonated within me.
  7. Describe yourself in three words. Learning, productive, and caring.
  8. What is your guiltiest pleasure? Milk chocolate.
  9. What single quality do you most appreciate in people? Honesty
  10. Which was the prompt you liked most in  #writing101?  See below.
  11. What’s your favorite post that you’ve written? (Link, please!)Day 5 Between the Lines

Here’s my list of nominees:

Platosgroove

Oneta

Story Teller

Shirley’s Heaven

Nerd Eye Open

The Scribbling Stone

Stranger in a Strange Mind

Tangled Mess

Geez, it’s looking like everyone already participated in the Liebster Award that I was thinking of nominating. I guess I got on this train kind of late. Anyway, I’ve enjoyed reading posts by each one of these nominees. Now I have to publish this and let all you nominees know you’re up!

Remember, I am a Life Story coach. Here are my 10 questions for those I nominate:
1. List 5 things you thought of to write about as you read through this blog post.
2. What was one of your parent’s favorite songs?
3. Do you like fruit pulp in your juice?
4. What do you think of when I say, “wooden spoon?”
5. Have you stood on top of a mountain and watched the sunrise?
6. Have you seen something unexplainable, like a UFO or Sasquatch?
7. Which sports team is your favorite?
8. Have you ever picked up a hitchhiker?
9. Which movie star would you want to portray you on the big screen?

To participate as a nominee:

Here are the Award rules to follow:

Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.

– Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.

– Nominate 10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.

– Ensure all of these bloggers have less than 200 followers.

– Answer the ten questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make ten questions of your own for your nominees.

– Lastly, COPY these rules in the post.

14 thoughts on “Nominated for The Liebster Award

  1. Thank you for the nomination. I’m trying to follow your directions, but I am failing to be able to the Liebster Award sticker? Can you help me out? How can I get it into my Media Library? Since you have it on this post, I guess you know how, or know where to send me for info. Thanks for the chance to have some fun with you bloggers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay. What I did was luck. But 1. I went to the blog post I was creating and clicked on the left hand sidebar thingie. and there is one clicking place in that list labeled Widgets. I had to look for those widgets. I even had to go down and select more to get an image widget. From Widgets I clicked “add image” and I had to go back to the page I got t he award sticker from and click the sticker so it comes up in another tab. (Are you still with me on this?) I then titled the image and copied and pasted the ULR (web address) of the award photo into the ULR on t he widget block asking for the ULR and somehow that worked to place it into my side bar. To place it into the post, I copied and pasted it into PAINT on my computer, saved it as a Jpg and then uploaded it into my media file. Others could probably have explained this much better than myself. Breath in–deep breath. Breath out slowly. You can do this. If not hopefully someone else will comment with easier directions. :). Oh man, I hope this helps.

      Like

  2. I understand, I understand. Not the instructions, the frustrations. Just joking. Thanks I’ll try that but there is a storm coming in and my electricity flickered so I best get off the computer project and get myself to bed and listen to the thunder and rain. (And somehow or other I might have taken you off my “follower.” Please reinstate me! I might have clicked the wrong thing. Anyway my page changed your status from following to follow.) I answered your questions; they were fun. They will be posted when I master the “media” affair. Good night.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi. I hope the thunder only whispers in the distance and you sleep well. I think you have to just click “follow” me again and you’d be reinstated. I don’t think I can reinstate you. from here, so just refollow me. (?) I’m supposed to be following you too. I think I still am. 🙂

      Like

  3. awritershelper, I am so sorry to not have responded with my blog of thanks for the Liebster Award. I mentioned rain the other night – well, it came in barrels,especially last night. We grabbed my laptop and purse and went to the cellar where is was moderately dry since my son had been working on it. Two large leaks however, so tonight the cellar has about two feet of water in it. And storms are sounding. It is supposed to really be bad tomorrow an Saturday. Be patient with me. There is life outside blogging! And sometimes it has to take priorities. Thanks for instructions on how to insert label for Liebster. I got to about step 3, and my fun stopped. We suffered little damage,but the tornado came to within five miles of us then turned directions. I’m thankful but others suffered. By the way I am in Mustang, OK. just southwest of Oklahoma City. Long explanation but my blogging friends are worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so happy to hear from you. I have family in Oklahoma–lots of family. I heard about all those tornadoes everywhere and remembered what you’d said about hearing the thunder . . . Many family of mine live in the N.E. of Oklahoma. My great great granddad lived in OK City. I’m so glad you have a cellar. Many don’t. Heart and prayers going out . . . still

      Like

Leave a Reply

