Americans are Not All Immigrants

2/3/17

There are updates to this post since last night

It has been bugging me that so many seem to have forgotten.

These past few weeks I’ve heard over and over again about America being a nation that is made up wholly of immigrants. Everyone knows that is not so. That, to me, is what’s currently referred to in American politics as an “altered fact.”

It probably wouldn’t have bothered me except there are all those news people shouting that “words count” and everyone from everywhere demanding foreigners have immediate access to the USA and all the fighting about “proper vetting.”

Don’t get me wrong. I have friends who have worked hard to legally become American citizens. I know really nice families of illegals. I also witnessed an illegal commit murder. I have ancestors who immigrated here from various countries, and some of them waited here in the USA for years before finally becoming “legal” citizens. However, I also have Native American Indian blood and so what I am about to say should be taken as coming from someone with a pretty darned balanced viewpoint and I’d like to either remind folks or educate folks about a few things.

According to the Leadership Conference page of civilrights.org, “There are currently 562 federally recognized tribes in the U.S.”

Getting recognition has been an issue for many tribes and that issue continues to this day. That does not mean a “people” does not exist.

Also, according to civilrights.org:

“Tribal Sovereignty: Federally recognized tribes are considered domestic dependent nations. Tribal sovereignty refers to tribes’ right to govern themselves, define their own membership, manage tribal property, and regulate tribal business and domestic relations; it further recognizes the existence of a government-to-government relationship between such tribes and the federal government.”

If you happened to have forgotten all the people of these Nations within the USA, here are some recent headlines to remind you:

(This first link provided in an edit I did while trying to establish what actually happened in the second link provided when I posted.  )

Feb 3, 2017
Massive Amounts of Trash Left Behind by Standing Rock Protesters Leaves North Dakota at Risk for ‘Environmental Disaster’
Feb. 2, 2017

Breaking: Standing Rock Tribal Council Betrays Water Protectors, Sends In Cops

Tuesday, 24 Jan 2017

Trump ignores question about Standing Rock Sioux after signing Dakota Access order

*The above links do not mean I agree or disagree with the writers of those stories. I have not investigated the changing situation fully. I am staying very aware. It is hard to tell from a distance what is balanced and factual news and what’s “altered.”

I couldn’t help but think of a song by an outspoken woman, Buffy St. Marie:

I only wanted to take this opportunity to speak out and remind people  . . .  Ah, hello . . . 

This is in response to the Daily Post DISCOVER CHALLENGE: Speak Out—Get inspired by those who speak out. Whether through blogging or marching, make your voice heard.

4 thoughts on “Americans are Not All Immigrants

    1. Thank you for the thanks. This was one of the “scary types” of posts for me to publish. I hope readers take it in the spirit it was written. This was a subject I had a hard time verbalizing in text.
      I’m enjoying your post dealing with YELLOW. You have fun things for writers over there! I look forward to visiting your blog frequently.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

