Writing Related Projects

August 27, 2015

Hello Dear Readers,

As I wrote to another blogger this past week, a quote from a fairly well-known movie came to mind. Our discussion dealt with writers bloc.

(I never suffer from writer’s block, by the way, just so you know. Way too much to write about.)

However, the quote was from The Shining and it wasn’t “Here’s Johnny.”

(I watched that movie in high school, viewing the scariest parts while peeking through the window of the door from within the lobby. It wasn’t so spooky there, with the lights on and all.)

The quote I’m referring to is one every writer over 45  55 or something more like 58 (but who’s counting,) should know. (How many of you already know what I’m going to write?)

“All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.”

Yep.

It cracks me up that there are so many images of that manuscript in Google:

As I said, I don’t have Johnny’s problem.

In this final mile of two major projects, I’ve taken some time off from blogging. I went to the beach, the fair, my high school reunion, visited my daughter, friends, parents, purchased a few paints, brushes, and, last but not least, a sewing machine. (I’ve never had my very own sewing machine to play with before. Pray for my fingers to not be pricked. Every time I try to sew I swear I must be related to Sleeping Beauty. Tiny drops of blood mess up material and you’d think feathers were a flying with all the fowl —foul—you get the picture.)

Somewhere around the bend. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Somewhere around the bend. Photo by Lenee Cobb

In order to write well, I need breathers, but I still have this inner need to create.

Point being

My breathers include time outdoors and other avenues of creativity like arts and crafts. I think every writer needs breathers and various avenues of creative expression.

Writing related projects

I’ve decided I want my new book—-my next book—-to have a ready-made line of products supporting it. This book is right next to finished. It mixes fact with fiction and it’s  a fun one. I’ll be doing everything from home: printing, binding, etc. Little by little, I’ve been collecting my supplies, selecting my stories, and working on the graphics for those stories.

Now to make some proto-projects to go with it. My hope is to have things done and organized in such a way as to begin really rocking  maybe by this Christmas season, but at least shortly after the first of the year.

Writing related projects include such things as:

  • stationary
  • toys
  • book markers
  • whatever else you can think of. (What else can you think of?)

Questions for you

There is so much more to writing than the mere typing of words. Are there other writers out there who’ve decided to do a whole DIY book project? Do any of you have complimentary projects going on to partner with your stories? (Not counting your blogs.) I’d like to hear from you.

8 thoughts on “Writing Related Projects

  1. Taking sometime out can be transforming at times… I felt writing made me live too much in my thoughts.. traveling, making connections with people and immersing myself in the enormous beauty of nature…has rendered me speechless…..

    Like

  2. The words will come when there’s time. 🙂 I purchased a little Alpha Smart (a lightweight, portable word processor) many years ago. I can stuff it inside a daypack and hike, and type on it and then come home and upload my words into Word. I wish the company still made this product. But I guess t here are smaller, new-fangled things like spendy phones to help folks do such things these days. But I still like my alphasmart. Its tough and light and I can immerse myself in my surroundings and write at the same time. I have this one: http://www.amazon.com/Alphasmart-Alpha-3000-Processing-Computer/dp/B002WJ8VLM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1440962655&sr=8-2&keywords=alphasmart
    Does anyone else have one?

    Like

Leave a Reply

