Point Defiance Gardens and Zoo 2

July 26, 2015

Arctic fox. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Arctic fox. Photo by Lenee Cobb

We’re at Point Defiance, going through the zoo and the flower gardens. It was a muggy day and many animals hid from the heat in tall grass and shade. We really had to search to see some of them. The fox I photographed looks almost ghostly, as if emerging from some other dimension.

He's posing for me, hoping I might paint him someday. I took photos of landscapes I could place him in while we were in the Asian area. Tigers are hard to paint. Photo by Lenee Cobb
He’s posing for me, hoping I might paint him someday. I took photos of landscapes I could place him in while we were in the Asian area. Tigers are hard to paint. Photo by Lenee Cobb

 

The walk along the Asian pathways into tiger territory was beautiful, filled with bamboo, orchids,  statuettes and flora. The air was heavy with the scent of orchids. Very heavy on such a muggy day. There is only so much I can tolerate as orchids go. They’re beautiful, but nauseating.

Orchids on jungle trail. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Orchids on jungle trail. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Trail to the jungle. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Trail to the jungle. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Photo by Lenee Cobb
Photo by Lenee Cobb

In the center of the zoo they have an outdoor theater. A few years ago my brother treated my granddaughter and I to a trip to this zoo and we watched a performance at this theater. It was wonderful. The kids loved it then and they still do to this day.

Telling kids about the birds and the upcoming performance at the theater. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Telling kids about the birds and the upcoming performance at the theater. Photo by Lenee Cobb

Although we were fascinated with the seabirds and otters, we caught the last few minutes of the performance.

A condor of some colorful type? He's in the play. Flew right past me as I sat down. Photo by Lenee Cobb
A condor of some colorful type? He’s in the play. Flew right past me as I sat down. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Snoopy wants to be this lucky dog. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Snoopy wants to be this lucky dog. Photo by Lenee Cobb

I caught our reflections in a water fountain as we watched the show’s end.

Reflected
Reflected
Leave a Reply

