Overwhelm Me, the Enabler

Motherboard1. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Motherboard1. Photo by Lenee Cobb

I’m an enabler of others. I help them accomplish their goals. Sometimes I feel overworked, overstressed, and generally overburdened. I’m not alone, even though it really feels like I am. I know I’m not. I’m never the only one undergoing whatever it is. Trials and tribulations. That’s what life is. Mine is no exception.

These past few weeks, I forced myself to sit and stay sat in front of my computer for the sole purpose of racking up time completing projects for others. Working for a living. And I love what I do. Really, I do. But, when I spend an inordinate amount of time doing for others and not myself, depression punches me below the belt. No mercy.

You too?

My husband and I took a drive across the Hood Canal Bridge to get away for a few hours. We stopped at a park just north of the bridge and moseyed around studying the interesting formations of root systems and nurse logs. I couldn’t help comparing myself to those ancient, decrepit nurse logs. The old “I must decrease so others can increase” aspects of my life struck vicious blows, accelerating  depression, compounding it with feelings of futility. What was I to do?

Motherboard2. Photo by Lenee Cobb
Motherboard2. Photo by Lenee Cobb

I purpose to take the time to play creatively. Maybe, like those old stumps, I’ll be able to produce some tantalizing works of art. Some extremely beautiful things are born from rotten wood.  Maybe it’s not so bad comparing myself to a nurse log as long as I force myself to take that step–that all important (perhaps a bit selfish) step—and . . .

Just do it . . . create something  . . . something new.

Beauty might not be seen in that creation for a while and that’s okay. But what astonishing things are around the next corner for those who dare to create and enable others to do so?

Legacy lives.

 And so I took some photos to remind me of my usefulness.

4 thoughts on “Overwhelm Me, the Enabler

Leave a Reply

